Approved: January 11, 2024

MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 248 GIRARD, KS December 14, 2023

The Board of Education of Unified School District 248 met in the Board Office on Thursday, December 14, 2023. President, Kelly Peak, called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm. Board members present were: Henry Ashbacher, Roger Breneman, Aaron Coester, Dave Goble, Lori Johnson, Peggy Marshall, and Kelly Peak. Also present were: Superintendent, Todd Ferguson; Board Treasurer, Charlene Bolinger; HS Principal, Tim Davied; MS Principal, BJ Pruitt; RVH Principal, Tina Daniel; Assistant RVH Principal, Joni Benso; Brendan Schmidt, RVH Teacher; Jeremiah Hudson, GHS Teacher. GHS Students in attendance were: Ethan Brooks, Imdelda Cano, Caleb Combs, Destynee Couch, Brayden Dringer, Kolton Droessler, Adrianna Ferrell, Ben Firman, Emalee Garner, Brian Holding, Connor Hudson, Tyrel Humble, Kimi Johns, Aaron Jones, Drake Kotzman, Camden Leonard, Brodey Lindsey, Max Lewis, Julianne Khang, Anthony Pike and Cole Woodard. Tucker Hudson, Reporter with Hometown Girard; Aaron Pyle, Reporter with The Morning Sun; Fryendz Wallace, Reporter with KOAM News. Additional guests include: Sara Beezley, Joseph Bilinski, Mark and Brittany Hockenberry, Korey Kessinger, Dustin Lattimer, Brad Lindsey, Micki McCorkle, Glenna Miller, Natalie Noel, David Phillips, and Carthy Terry.

Absent were: Assistant HS Principal, Chris Swartz and Board Clerk, Randee Hanks.

Dave Goble moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion for the approval of the agenda, approval of the minutes of the November 9th, 2023 Board Meeting, approval of the treasurer's report and the bills be approved for payment, amounting to \$1,029,066.94. Motion carried 7-0.

Henry Ashbacher moved, Roger Breneman seconded the motion to approve the following donations: \$2,500- Vulcan Lodge- GHS FBLA; \$500- GNBank- Girard FFA; \$6,000- Producer's COOP- RVH Backpack Program. Motion carried 7 – 0.

Aaron Coester moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to approve the USD 248 Out of District Student Policy. Motion carried 7 - 0.

Peggy Marshall moved, Aaron Coester seconded the motion to approve Student Handbook changes. Motion carried 7-0.

David Goble moved, Henry Ashbacher seconded the motion to approve the GHS Work Study Applications. Motion carried 7 - 0.

Lori Johnson moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to approve the KASB recommended policy updates. Motion carried 7 - 0.

Roger Breneman moved, Aaron Coester seconded the motion to approve Strategic Plan Focus Areas. Motion carried 7 – 0.

Superintendent, Todd Ferguson, presented the review of new graduation requirements approved by the Kansa State Board of Education.

Superintendent, Todd Ferguson, presented the review of the Facility Updates.

Henry Ashbacher moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to approve Change Order at the RVH Playground. Motion carried 7 - 0.

Lori Johnson moved, Roger Breneman seconded the motion to enter into Executive Session at 6:56 pm for a period of 10 minutes, for a discussion of Non-Elected Personnel under KOMA, with Board Members, Superintendent and Building Administrators present. Motion carried 7 – 0.

Back to regular session at 7:06 pm.

Peggy Marshall moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to approve the following employment recommendations: Steven James- RVH Janitor; Amy Gray- KESA District Chair, Heather Peak- KESA Building Chair; Melissa Sisney- KESA Building Chair.

Principals' Reports in the Board Packets.

Superintendent, Todd Ferguson, discussed the Superintendent's Report.

Southeast 637 Interlocal and Greenbush Report.

Henry Ashbacher moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to enter into Executive Session at 7:20 pm for a period of 10 minutes, for a discussion of Non-Elected Personnel under KOMA, with Board Members present. Motion carried 7 – 0.

Back to regular session at 7:30 pm.

Henry Ashbacher moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to enter into Executive Session at 7:30 pm for a period of 5 minutes, for a discussion of Non-Elected Personnel under KOMA, with Board Members present. Motion carried 7 – 0.

Back to regular session at 7:35 pm.

Peggy Marshall moved, David Goble seconded the motion for adjournment of the meeting at 7:35 pm. Motion carried $7-0$.
Randee Hanks Clerk